New Pubs and Reading News

The weeks since Arlington Writers Resist have been very eventful, bring me more recognition, publications, and reading opportunities. The photo above, courtesy of Kelly Ann Jacobson, depicts the second launch reading for Unrequited, one of many offsite reading that took place during the recent Associated Writing Programs (AWP) conference in Washington. I was able to attend a couple of others as well as the Candlelight Vigil for Free Speech at the White House that closed the conference.

I was also honored to be included in Kelly’s most recent anthology, Candlesticks and Daggers, and participated in its launch reading on January 28.

Not after the Unrequited and Candlesticks readings, I learned that one of my poems was chosen in the 2017 Moving Words competition to be placed on Arlington County buses, and this week all the winning poems were posted online. (My partner and first reader, Naomi Thiers, was also honored this year.) There will be a reading of all the winners at 4 p.m. on Sunday, April 9, at the Iota Club. I’ll post details as that event approaches.

I also published a poem this week at Words Dance, where I have published a few times in the past. It’s a wonderful journal that not only publishes some of the finest current poetry but also includes sound files of the poets reading and adorns each poem with a beautiful artwork. I recommend you not only check out my poem, but sign up and follow their amazing work.

And finally, to cap an already gratifying week, Kelly has posted an interview with me as part of her series highlighting contributors to her anthologies. Her amazing collaborator, Sati Benes Chock, provided wonderful and incisive questions about my work that were a challenge and a joy to answer.

Coming up this Sunday, I will be reading at The Writer’s Center in Bethesda, MD as part of The Deaf Poets Society event. I am beyond thrilled: This is my debut as a featured reader at the Center and represents a large step up in recognition and honor for me. So if you are in or near the DMV, please join us Sunday.

About Gregory Luce

Poet, father, birdwatcher, retired pre-press professional, writing instructor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

